Create an Account

Marie Callender`s has Mold in their Frozen Pies!! GROSS!!

This was so gross! I bought several Marie Callender's frozen pies to purchase and try out about a month or so ago. I've tried most of them and honestly enjoyed them. Then I opened one and saw the green mold sitting on top! Initially I figured it was expired and immediately checked the date to see if they needed to all be tossed out or not. Nope. Not expired. These weren't due to expire until July 22, 2015. So where did the mold come from? I have no idea. They were still all sealed up and up until that point I had no issues. Honestly, if I wasn't about to thaw it out some before eating it I may not have noticed until after taking a few bites. 

So I went ahead and emailed Marie Callender's about this issue. After all, it's disgusting and it's not even expired. The pie didn't sit out, at least not on my part, so it wasn't anything of my own doing either. Well it's been a couple weeks now and I STILL have NOT heard back from the company. So this company made some bad pies, I contact them for them to make this right and I hear nothing? I definitely can't support such a company nor will I buy their products again. I'm highly disappointed. Things happen, but no response when I even told them I had photo proof I could provide them is just unacceptable in my books. 

So if you eat Marie Callender's or plan to try them, I highly encourage you to STAY AWAY from them! As you can see they clearly don't care for their customers to sell bad products and then ignore them on top of that.'s sad since the other ones without mold had been so good...


After making this post and sharing it on Facebook and Twitter I finally got this response:

Hi Ashley –

Thank you for contacting us about your recent experience with our Marie Callender’s Coconut Cream pie. That is certainly not what we want you to find when you open the box and we’re so sorry you didn’t get the enjoy the pie. As we told you in our response on the page, this is not something that happens often and not something you should expect to have happen again. We take pride in the quality of our food and please be assured this will be taken seriously.

We’d be happy to send you some coupons towards some new pies or a refund for the one you purchased and we hope you’ll give us another try. Please provide your mailing address and let us know if you’d prefer the coupons or refund and we’ll get it taken care of.

Thank you.


ConAgra Foods Social Media Team

XOX Signature
  • report post
Invalid Input
Invalid Input
Please tell us why do you think this post or page is inappropriate:(*)
Invalid Input
Invalid Input

scissor divider

You may also like:


Add comment

Security code


Would you like to advertise with us? We offer a variety of advertising packages ranging in prices. See what all we offer




Free Stuff



Never miss an update. Subscribe today!
Connect with us!

Disclosure Policy

This website was created and owned by Ashley & is based in the USA. While sometimes we do have posts that are internationally and worldwide, this is not often. Our target audience is in the USA so please keep this in mind when using this site. Please note that Closet of Free Samples does accept forms of cash advertising, sponsorship, paid insertions and/or other forms of compensation. Read More →